Print.. or Broadcast?

Decisions, decisions.

It’s that time of year.. it’s time to choose my modules for next year. It feels strange even thinking about my next year at uni. Sorting out next year’s accommodation was enough of a hassle, but choosing my modules? Christ, it feels like this year has flew by before i’ve even had chance to blink.

There are pro’s and con’s of whichever route I take. Print is obviously going to be  focusing on newspapers and magazines and well, a lot of writing involved. Broadcast? I can only assume it will be a lot of TV/radio work, script writing and also more practical based way of working.

However, i’ve come to a decision.. broadcast is the winner!

There’s something about broadcast journalism which excites me. I would just must more prefer being active with my work, travelling to interviews, filming, recording, editing.. and in my opinion it just doesn’t get boring, there is ALWAYS something that needs to be done. I’ve found that i’m much more motivated with my work when it’s broadcast too.

I’m looking forward to finally getting started and really getting stuck in. This year has been a bit of a blur, topped with modules i’ve hated (UK JOURNALISM!) and a few i’ve enjoyed. Bad results and good..

Some of my classmates at UCLAN have been posting about their opinion on the course so far and which route they’re thinking of taking next year. You can read what Hannah Collins is doing here.

My future?

I really have no idea what’s install me. I purely picked this degree because I figured it would be something i’d enjoy and hopefully maybe even be good at.. I never really thought about where i’d be in 10 years or what kind of job i’d get. So bring on year 2!

Image from:

http://anorak.co.uk/

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment