Beware, this is the first time I’ve ever blogged. Be gentle.

The future of Journalism?

The future is certainly… uncertain. We simply cannot anticipate what is yet to come with new technologies being designed to advance our current standards.

I sometimes wonder why I even decided to pay £3,000+ on a Journalism degree when all’s I hear about is the negativities of the job. Its competitive, demanding and hard work, but I think this is exactly the kind of challenge I need.

‘THERE ARE NO JOBS IN JOURNALISM’

If I had a £1 for every time someone said that to me, I wouldn’t need to be getting myself a degree in the first place. But really, how are there possibly not any jobs?

We’re always needed, to dig out information about current events, people, trends and issues and turn them into an article, a TV programme or even a radio show.  It’s competitive but don’t you think we know that already? I mean come on; we’ve all got ourselves a Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin and now a BLOG. Just like every other Journalist out there, so give me a break. Jeeze.

But this is the problem. Journalism is too popular. It’s a struggle to be original and to stand out from everyone else, when EVERYONE is trying to do the same thing. You need passion, enthusiasm and dedication… news is everywhere, you’ve just got to find it.

Our future? – I honestly don’t know the answer.

Things are changing so quickly, ‘out with the old and in with the new’. Take Newspapers for example, they’re not dead yet. Last time I checked they were still in good health, just not as popular as they once were. This doesn’t mean to say they’re going to just disappear; there is still an audience for them, my dad for example.

After reading some other blogs on a similar kind of topic, I found that there are different kinds of views for what the future holds for journalism. My classmates at UCLAN have posted their views which you can read here and here.

ONLINE. Now this is where it’s at. Some would even say that this IS the future. It’s fast paced and it has everything we need. TV, news, music, gossip, podcasts… it’s everything that journalism stands for rolled into one. Its on-the-go, accessible even available via mobiles.

All in all, I’m quite open-minded about the future of Journalism. I don’t think there is an answer to where the future lies; it’s something that will develop on its own. The path I’m interested in is the broadcast route. But who knows what’s install for me?

Images from:

http://www.play-mag.co.uk/opinion/games-journalism-is-broken-mainly-because-its-not-all-written-by-automatons/

http://www.smuc.ac.uk/postgraduate/sports-journalism/qualifications-careers.htm

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Beware, this is the first time I’ve ever blogged. Be gentle.

  1. Pingback: The Future Of Journalism??? « Imamul's Blog

  2. Hey, I wrote the games journalism piece you got the top image from (which I nabbed from somewhere else.. ahem) – was directed this way by the pingback.

    Just thought I’d throw in that I went to UCLAN too. Problem was I didn’t do ‘pure’ journalism (journ + English) so I didn’t get any of the actual necessary bits, like law or shorthand. Had to do another course a few years later to top up.

    Anyway, most people I know who got into whatever field of journalism they’re in did it through working their arses off in a specific field, knowing someone reasonably influential or a combination of both. I got into this gig through a combo.

    Good luck, whatever you end up doing.

Leave a comment